Follow Us on Facebook

Mayor & Council Directory

Doug Svien-Mayor
Doug Svien

Mark McClinton-place1
Mark McClinton

Place 1

Carla Trussell

Place 2

Place 3

Brady Pendleton-place4
Brady Pendleton

Place 4

Rhett Harrison-place5
Rhett Harrison

Place 5

Alan Nix-place-6
Alan Nix

Place 6

Sherry Zachery

Place 7

Brandon Huckabee

Place 8

Randy Thomas-City-Attorney
Randy Thomas

City Attorney

Allen Barnes - City Administrator
Allen Barnes

City Administrator

Regular City Council meetings are held the first Tuesday of the month at 5:30 p.m. in the City Hall Council Chambers located at 298 W. Washington.

Live video of regular and special council meetings are available at


Each of the eight (8) council members and the mayor shall be a citizen of the United States of America, have been a resident of the State of Texas for a period of at least one (1) year, have been a resident of the City of Stephenville for a period of at least six (6) months, be a qualified voter of the State of Texas, shall not be in arrears in the payment of any taxes or any other liability due the city, and citizens who run for election from a single-member district, must have been a resident in that district for a period of at least six (6) months prior to the election date. (Art. III, Sec. 7, City Charter)

Mayor Term:

The mayor shall be elected from the city at large for a term of two (2) years or until his successor has been elected and duly qualified. The mayor shall be elected on the first Saturday in May each even-numbered year. (Art. III, Sec. 2, City Charter)


There shall be eight (8) members of the city council elected at large from the City of Stephenville. Council members shall be elected for a term of two (2) years, four (4) council members being elected each year. Those council members who are elected in the year 1964 shall, after their election, draw for places 2, 4, 6 and 8, and those council members holding over who were elected in 1963 shall draw for places 1, 3, 5 and 7. Thereafter council members shall run and elected by place designation. (Art. III, Sec. 5, City Charter)

City Elections:

First Saturday in May, or as dictated by the Texas Election Code.

Standing Committees of The City Council

Each committee is comprised of four council members. These committees are realigned each year following the City General Election in May.

Community Services Committee:

Library, senior citizen center, airport, cemetery, parks, recreation, and related items.

Finance Committee:

Investment policies, expenditures of Child Safety Fund and Hotel/Motel Tax, liaison with Central Appraisal District, review audit, other policy matters within the Finance Division.

Nominations Committee:

Recommend to full council the names of citizens to serve on advisory boards and commissions; consider legislative matters.

Personnel Committee:

Personnel policies, salaries, and benefits, classification and job descriptions, health insurance, workers compensation, and related matters.

Planning and Development Committee:

Liaison with Planning and Zoning Commission and trade boards, code enforcement, sale or acquisition of city property, traffic, streets, drainage, and related matters.

Public Health and Safety Committee:

Policies relating to emergency medical service and emergency preparedness, review of ordinances pertinent to health and safety, and other public safety policy matters.

Public Works Committee:

Policies and issues relating to ground and surface water supply, water conservation, distribution planning, waste water treatment and collection improvements, landfill policies, gate fees, long-range planning for future landfill, recycling, composting, streets, drainage, and related matters.